Book Blogger Insider Tag

It’s time to do another tag!

Rules

Questions

  1. Where do you typically write your blog posts?

I used to write at my home computer in the kitchen until it died and now I’m writing off my old netbook that I used during my university days but I’m still in the kitchen. Occasionally, I type out shorter posts on my mobile on train rides to work.

 

  1. How long does it generally take you to write a book review?

So I try to write one in one-and-a-half sittings. I’ll write up the draft in one sitting. Then I’ll get up, do something else, and then review and edit in the second half. I never edit longer than it takes me to write a post. The whole process can span from thirty minutes to one day, depending on what distracts me (youtube, music, tv).

 

  1. When did you start your book blog?

January 2016. I’ve just had my one year anniversary.

 

  1. What is the worst thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

Coming up with different topics! When I first started this, I thought I’d eventually run out of book related topics to discuss (and I still do think about this). But I find that no matter how much I keep writing, I never seem to finish the list of things I want to write about because each new topic becomes a link to another topic, and it becomes a never-ending spiral down the rabbit hole.

 

  1. What is the best thing about having a book blog in your opinion?

I love that it gives me the opportunity to voice my opinion (even if it’s just a drop in the ocean) about what I read. It helps me to formulate what goes on in my head and it has given greater depth to my reading experience.

 

  1. What blog post have you had the most fun writing so far?

The most recent post that I actually quite enjoyed was The 50 Bookish Questions Tag since I only had to write short answers.

 

  1. What is your favourite type of blog post to write?

I love writing rants (hopefully, when I structure my thoughts better, I can call them personal essays). At first, I treated them as filler pieces when I couldn’t read fast enough to review and post as regularly as I wanted to, but these mini-essays give me the freedom to write whatever I want.

 

  1. When do you typically write?

Usually after work but I’ll write on the weekends if I’m not going out.

 

  1. Do you review every book you read?

Yes. I make it a point to review them all. Every. Single. One. I used to avoid the non-fiction ones because I didn’t even know how to approach them but now I give them a crack, even if I’m not usually happy with level of analysis.

 

  1. How do you write your book reviews? With a cup of coffee or tea? With Netflix? Cuddled with your fur baby?

I play music or youtube videos in the background. I just need some kind of background noise.

 

  1. When do you write your book reviews? Right after finishing the book? Two weeks after finishing the book?

I’ve been treating this blog as a very public journal of my reading achievements so I try to write my book reviews in the order that I’ve read them and as soon as I read them so all my emotions can be recorded when it’s fresh and raw. Sometimes I’ll have a review outstanding for weeks but only if I am unsure how I feel about it.

 

  1. How often do you post?

Every one to three days. But that doesn’t just include book reviews, it includes all my other short essays and rants, interesting pictures I find, memes, recommendations, news, or anything that’s related to books. I forced myself to keep to this schedule to make this hobby stick.

 

I tag everyone!

Leave a Reply

