Happy International Women’s Day!! 5 Feminist Recommendations + 3 That I’m Dying To Read

Happy International Women’s Day!!

In the spirit of today, here are the books that have improved me as a Feminist:

  1. A Room Of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf. Woolf argues that female writers need to have a room of their own before they can have the complete freedom to achieve their creative, although the same principle can be applied for most educated, middle-class woman; women need to have the freedom to pursue financial independence before they can achieve true independence.
  2. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. It makes me nervous that Atwood is so insistent that it’s categorised as Speculatie Fiction, on the basis that it can happen, but nevertheless I am so excited for the mini-series.
  3. Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw. The play that ‘My Fair Lady’ was based off, Shaw wrote Pygmalion to show that moulding a woman to your ideas of perfection will backfire. He even wrote a long essay explaining why Higgins is a douchebag and Eliza would never have married him (which I can get behind).
  4. The Wife Drought by Annabel Crabb. Just read it and I still love it. Anyone who wants an early lesson on how Feminism can be applied to everyday life needs to read this book.
  5. Lean In by Sheryl Sandberg. I know everyone criticises it for being catered towards middle-class, professional women but let’s face it, that is what Sandberg is, and she can only write what she knows. This book gave me the confidence to believe I deserve a place at the meeting and to speak up so I’m very grateful to this book.

And as I was writing up my list, I realised that I actually didn’t have as many feminist readings in my artillery as I thought. I read a lot of essays and think pieces but not a lot of books, fiction or non-fiction so here are the books I want to read:

  1. Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay. I try to live a life that’s principled and keeps to my beliefs, so I can get pretty worked up when I do something I think I shouldn’t, for example, when I devote hours of my time looking at clothes and fussing over my appearance, so I think Gay’s collectionn of essaya might remedy this.
  2. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath. I think I’m at the perfect point in my life to read this. There’s all these things I want to do but I feel constricted and limited and I think Plath’s novel will help me get through this. If I can’t find a secomd hand copy soon, I’ll just buy it new.
  3. The Fictional Woman by Tara Moss. I saw her on a panel at the Sydney Opera House and her articulate thoughts on women’s right just blew me away. I would be doing myself a disservice if I didn’t read one of her works.

What are your recommendations?

Leave a comment