The Impact Of Books On Emma Watson

For anyone who loves reading, the act of reading can represent a great deal more than just a hobby to pass the time so let’s have a look at what Emma Watson has to say on it, as quoted from her interview with Vanity Fair:

Aboveground, over coffee at a nearby café, Watson explains why she thinks reading is “sacred.” There’s the obvious, professional reason: Harry Potter was a literary sensation before becoming the blockbuster franchise that made her famous and a millionaire many times over. But books are also rooted in her deepest personal experiences. “Books gave me a way to connect with my father,” she says. “Some of my most precious and treasured moments…” She trails off and, unexpectedly for someone who is known for her composure, tears up. Her parents divorced when she was young. “I just remember him reading to me before bed and how he used to do all the different voices. I grew up on film sets, and books were my connection to the outside world. They were my connection to my friends back at school because if I was reading what they were reading we’d have something in common. Later in life, they became an escape, a means of empowerment, a friend I could rely on.”

I’m not going to talk about how she’s just like Hermione Granger OMG because that topic of discussion has been beaten to death (but my God she’s the living embodiment); I want to talk about what books can mean to people.

There’s just something about the act of reading that inspires an almost fervent attachment that few other hobbies can. It is a love that transcends generations, cultures, and economic status; it is an activity where if you ask a million people why they read, you get a million answers.

Emma is really just articulating one of those many reasons but it’s an emotional one. There’s the ocassional mention of using it as a means of escapism and to educate yourself further, but for the people who are capable of describing reading as “sacred” with a straight face, books have usually been the  at a critical juncture in their lives. 

Books don’t judge you, they don’t criticise you. They just give the right advice at the right time.

I won’t ask what reading means to you because if you’re part of the book bloggimg community, you’re not going to be able to answer that in a paragraph, so I’ll ask you this: has there been any book that stands out in your memory, as an integral part of your history and character development? 

For me, I’d pick ‘The Secret History by Donna Tartt’ because I’d read this when I was at university and it showed me just how complex friendships can be and just how little we really know about our friends until it comes down to the crunch.

Leave a Reply

