Happy Lunar New Year!! 5 Asian Book Recommendations

And so soon after Australia Day too!

The wonderful thing about having multiple cultural backgrounds is getting to celebrate multiple holidays!

To celebrate, I’d like to recommend my favourite Asian books (I will be classifying Asian books as anything written by someone of an East Asian background, as this is the group that predominantly celebrates the Lunar New Year):

  • Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami. The first book that got me into Murakami, it reminded me of the restlessness and ambiguities of early relationships.
  • Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro. Written by a Japanese author, it assesses what it really means to be human and what are the innate qualities of being human.
  • The Gallileo Detective Series by Keigo Higashino. Crimes consist of three elements: means, motive, opportunity and Higashino deconstructs these aspects to breathe new life into crime fiction. He doesn’t try to be clever or new but challenging preconceived notions of crime fiction elements is how he can keep each installment fresh. I own the first three, read my review for the third here.
  • Wild Swans by Jung Chang. This is the first memoir and first non-fiction I ever read that made me want to learn more about China and its tumultuous history. It really opened a new set of doors for me.
  • The Happiest Refugee by Anh Do. This guy made two listings, I am that fond of this memoir! See my Australia Day post for more details but given Australia’s problematic relationship with Asian in the 80s, it’s heart-warming to see this memoir nominated as one of the PM’s favourites.

    I don’t read enough Asian books but luckily the ones that I do have access to are of pretty good quality.

    2 thoughts on “Happy Lunar New Year!! 5 Asian Book Recommendations

    Leave a Reply

    