From Book To TV…

You guys, there have been so many amazing TV series based on books or book series come out in the last few years; it’s such a golden age for television in terms of quality and the talent they attract.

I’m usually hesitant about TV series since I like them to have a definitive ending, I don’t like series dragging on forever and then being disappointed with unnecessary side plots and a very contrived ending ala How I Met Your Mother. But converting from a book or book series that has been completed/has stories independent of each other to a tv series is something I’m game for. There’s a set story to be followed (unless it’s a spin-off) and I enjoy seeing how the characters and the themes are visually interpreted.

For example…

  • I am crazy excited for release of the tv series The Handmaid’s Tale. I first read ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ when I was 13 and didn’t understand a single thing; read it again much later and it was mindblowing. That’s my kind of dystopian sci-fi, although Atwood prefers to label it as speculative fiction because she considers it a likely scenario and hey, I don’t need to sleep at night anyway. The Handmaid’s Tale will come out on April 26 in Hulu but because I don’t own any streaming TV I’ll wait till it’s out on DVD.
  • I begged my friend for ages to lend me her copy of Hannibal but I never even made it past episode 8 because if I watched it at night it made me too wired up to sleep properly due to the sheer amount of violence. I do want to keep watching though because Mads Mikkelson is so spot on with his performance.
  • Not only that, but the Comoran Strike series are coming out and you do know how I love me my crime fiction. The only thing I’m hesitant about is how they intend to structure the tv series, will it be one episode for each novel or will one novel cover several episodes? Also I have seen a picture of Comoran Strike and he’s a lot better looking that I imagined. I wrote a review here.
  • I now own a copy of The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency and just seeing pictures of the main characters is making me squeal with glee. The casting is so perfect, they are exactly how I pictured them to be so I’m very excited about getting stuck into it. Go here to a read a review.
  • I was a fan of the BBC Sherlock series the day I accidentally started watching it instead of studying for tax although the episodes take so long to come out and now that Moriarty has been defeated I don’t how else the story can be loyal to the original stories. I have yet to see Season Four though so I’ll probably see it once it’s on free-to-air TV.
  • Speaking of BBC, their mini-series And Then There Were None is one of the best adaptations of Agatha Christie’s novels I have ever seen. It was 3 episodes long and although some aspects of the story was changed, the psychological pressure from being stalked by a crazed madman and confronting the sins of their past was executed so perfectly. The only thing I felt could be improved on was the denouement, in particular how the murderer tracked down all his victims in the first place.
  • I’ve been trying to track down a version of the Japanese Gallileo Detective series that has English subtitles but that is proving harder than I thought. I am also a little concerned about spoiling future stories for myself because I do enjoy the age old adage of “reading-before-watching” and I’ve only read three of the instalments so far.
  • With the same mindset, I’ll watch The Phryne Fisher Mysteries when I’ve read more of the books, as I’ve only read four so far. I also just want to ogle the costuming because I love 30s fashion. Pop over to here and here to read my reviews.
  • And David Suchet’s Poirot episodes makes for excellent Sunday night viewings. It’s like a British Law and Order but with less pointed commentary on contemporary matters.

To keep on this trend, I would love to see a tv series made out of the following:

  • A BBC miniseries on The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society should be go nicely because I think only the Poms could do justice to the story (go here to read my review)
  • I would love to see an anime on Usagi Yojimbo; that would fulfil all my childhood dreams. Go here to read my love for this series.
  • A few years ago, I would have begged for a Harry Potter TV series but the franchise is too bloated now, maybe in ten years time when I’m desperate for a hit of nostalgia and the series hasn’t been ruined by something ridiculous.

You will notice that I haven’t mentioned the internet’s favourite series, Game of Thrones and that’s because I can’t stand fantasy (but for some reason, I follow the gossip to GoT, go figure).

 

Have you seen any of the above series? Which book series converted to tv series is your favourite?

Leave a Reply

