The Reading Habits Tag

It’s time for another tag! I saw this on Read and Treats.

The Reading Habits Tag

Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

I just kind of read where I like, so it’s quite often the couch, or the kitchen bench. Occasionally, when I’m feeling exceptionally classy, I’ll even read on the toilet, a habit I picked up from my dad when I was seven. (But my dream is to have my own reading nook with a chair that’s so ergonomic and expensive, it can massage the knots from my back).


Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I have a collection of bookmarks I keep on my bookshelf and I try to wear one out before I move onto another but in reality, this happens a lot.

any-bookmark-will-do


Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop after a chapter/ a certain amount of pages?

It depends on my mood but usually no because I am a devout follower of the school of thought “One More Chapter”.

book-reading-addiction


Do you eat or drink while reading?

I can’t even remember to eat or drink whilst working; I am never going to remember to eat or drink when I’m in the middle of a cliffhanger.


Multitasking: Music or TV while reading?

See above, unless I am re-reading something that does not require intense concentration.


One book at a time or several at once?

One book at a time. Always. Unless I am re-reading something that requires no intellectual effort because it’s a) an easy read and/or b) I have read it a thousand times (Harry Potter, To Kill a Mockingbird).


Reading at home or everywhere?

Both, but I confess I get most of my reading done on the work commute on my train.


Reading out loud or silently in your head?

Who reads out loud? And even if you did, surely at some point someone would point out how distracting it is for everyone else? I do respond animatedly though, like gasping out loud or giggling.


Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

No but I am guilty of skimming the boring bits. Annoyingly though, the only time I do read ahead is when my eye does that thing where it jumps ahead and reads spoilers and then I cannot un-read it.

scumbag-brain-remembers-spoilers


Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

I don’t mind having the spine creased but I’ll never force the book in half so the covers sit flat on the table. Like the notion that wrinkles give character to one’s face, I think creases give character to your books and shows just what it meant to you; a well-worn novel doesn’t mean an abused novel.


Do you write in your books?

Never! But I am thinking of starting to write notes in my non-fiction reads so I can remember details better. It’ll be like university all over again (because I am a giant nerd, I really enjoyed the therapeutic nature of note-taking during my studying days).

 

I tag everyone!

Leave a Reply

