Recording Purchased Books

How does everyone else keep a record of their books? I’m not talking about your TBR list but your actual purchased books. 

I started cataloging all my books in a spreadsheet (because as an accountant I genuinely do not know any other method of recording and organising data, I am being 100% serious) and I carry the file with me on my phone. That way when I buy a book, I can cross check it against what I have to make sure I’m not doubling  up. It’s usually when I’ve losy track of the instalment I’m up to in a series (The No. 1 Ladies Detective Agency), or if I own too many books written by one author (Agatha Christie).

Someone else must spreadsheet their books, surely. I’m pretty positive I am not the only one because you are never the only one to do anything but I’ve never seen anyone else frantically scrolling  through their phone in a bookstore so I am pitching this question to a wider audience.

And for those that do, how do you record it? I have a column for:

  • Title
  • Author
  • Genre (but strictly ‘fiction’ or ‘non-fiction’ only because trying to discern the difference between a thriller or a suspense would drive me up the  wall)
  • If it’s part of a compilation

    Leave a Reply

    