NaNoWriMo Performance

Let’s review my NaNoWriMo Performance, shall we?

nanowrimo-progress

I literally wrote a few lines and completely forgot all about it. Don’t get me wrong. I’ve been reviewing this plot and the world the people inhabit in my head for years now so I know it back to front. But I didn’t have the fictional world written out so when it came to write the story, I got so focused on planning the world that I forgot the plot.

I think what I’ll do is actually plan out my story first, like have rough guideline so I know roughly where the story is going. I know how it’ll end and the moral I hope to infuse into the story but I don’t know how to get there. I’ll also write up the ‘rules’ for my fictional landscape too so I’ll have the background for it when I’m plotting.

I initially didn’t do any of those things because I was worried about being too rigid and not allowing for spurts of creativity but I’m probably more suited with a bit less free reign and a bit more control.

How did everyone else go for NaNoWriMo? I hope you were all more successful than I was…

Leave a Reply

