I Messed Up Book Tag

 

I saw this tag on Books, Vertigo and Tea and it looked like fun!

 

A character appearance you misread or imagined differently

Liesel Meminger from ‘The Book Thief’. I imagined her to be scrawnier, like she’s been underfed, and more boyish, definitely not with flowing gentle curls.

 

A character name you’ve been pronouncing wrong

Hermione from Harry Potter. I don’t even know how to write out how I pronounced it but it was 100% nothing like what was in the movies.

 

An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure

The unreliable narrator is my absolute favourite trope of all time, like reading something from multiple perspectives or finding out later on the narrator has been hiding information.

 

A cliché character that you like better on screen than reading about it

The stoic man with a stick up his ass who resolutely sticks to his principles but is secretly a big softie on the inside. Think Darcy (from ‘Pride and Prejudice’ and ‘Bridget Jone’s Diary’). It takes everything in me to not reach out to this character, shake them by the shoulder and demand they be less emotionally constipated but I can’t help but swoon and sigh when the show up on the big screen.

 

A word or phrase that you learned because of its use in books

I first heard about the MacGuffin (an item that is the driving force behind the plot or motivations of a character but is never actually seen) when I read ‘The Maltese Falcon’ (read my review here).

 

Have you ever read/not completed a required reading book for school?

I don’t even remember the name of the book but even the teacher thought it was poorly written and assigned us another one. All I remember is that it was an Australian coming-of-age story and it was about a boy that runs away from home because his mum starts dating the man who’s about to shut down his football club so it was as stupid as you imagined.

 

Have you ever skipped (or wanted to) a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in?

I skimmed a lot of scenes in Dicken’s ‘Great Expectations’ that didn’t mention Estelle and Miss Havisham. The story can be a little on the saccharine but the inclusion of the bitter Miss Havisham and her protégé made the experience more palatable.

 

Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book?

As introverted as I am, I have never done that. I make it a point to go out when I’m invited to push my boundaries even if I really just want to stay at home.

 

I tag everyone!

Leave a Reply

