Top Ten Tuesday Tag: Top Ten Books That I’ve Added to My To-Be-Read List Lately

It’s Tuesday and you know what that means! It’s Top Ten Tuesday Meme by The Broke and the Bookish. This week it’s…

The Top Ten Books That I’ve Added To My To-Be-Read List Lately

  1. Six four by Hideo Yokoyama. It’s a Japanese crime thriller with a police procedural so it’s standard reading material for me. It’s been a while since I tackled something solid and heavy and they’ve even made a movie out of it.
  2. The Vegetarian by Han Kang. This won the International Man Booker Prize in 2016 and according to Goodreads is “a disturbing, yet beautifully composed narrative told in three parts, The Vegetarian is an allegorical novel about modern day South Korea, but also a story of obsession, choice, and our faltering attempts to understand others, from one imprisoned body to another” so my whole body is itching to read this, even if I strongly suspect the deeper philosophical meaning escapes me.
  3. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip L. Dick. I love me some dystopian sci-fi and this novel supposedly provided the inspiration for the movie ‘Blade Runner’ and is considered one of the most iconic Sci-fi novels in the genre.
  4. The Godfather by Mario Pulozzo. I love making my way through the classics and it’s time to give the (God)father of gangster novels a try (I swear I’m funny). I’ve watched the movie already and I’m very curious as to how the infamous horse head scene plays out.
  5. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I promise I’ll give this Romance genre another serious try without judgement. I’ve heard everyone cries at the ending so I am expecting tears.
  6. Dowager Empress Cixi by Jung Chang. When I went to China, I became almost obsessed with the woman responsible for the Summer Palace, and the Marble Boat, and the Long Corridor. I also enjoyed Jung Chang’s lyrical prose in her memoir ‘Wild Swans’ so I’m eager to read something else written by her.
  7. Inferno by Dan Brown. Anyone who’s been following my blog for a while will know that I consider Robert Langdon novels to be the ultimate guilty pleasure and the Tom Hanks movie that’s coming out makes me want to read it even more.
  8. One Child by Mei Fong. As an only child myself, I’m fascinated by only child dynamics and this book goes on to discuss the Little Emperor phenomenon in China as a result of the One-Child policy.
  9. The Sellout by Paul Beatty. This year’s winner of the Man Booker Prize, it’s supposedly Swiftian in its commentary on modern day society.
  10. Strangers On A Train by Patricia Highsmith. I’m slowly becoming addicted to Patricia Highsmith and I think  her most famous stories are this one and ‘The Talented Mr Ripley’. Not only do I need to read more of her stories, I would also love to own an original copy.

As you can see, I’m trying to read more diversely. If I had my way I’d drown myself in suspense, thrillers and paperback crime novels but then I’d miss out on exposing myself to everything

tbr-pile

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday Tag: Top Ten Books That I’ve Added to My To-Be-Read List Lately

  1. The Vegetarian and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? where fantastic reads for me. I hope you enjoy them. I have yet to complete The Godfather. I loved the films, but this is not the type of book I normally read. I have it hear waiting on me though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

