Day 19 – Favourite Book Turned Into A Movie

Let the Right One in by John Ajvide Lindqvist

 

I watched the movie before I realised there was a book (so apologies for anyone who’s really pedantic on the whole ‘read-before-watch’ action) but I just wanted to watch a movie in Swedish and ‘Let The Right One In’ got amazing reviews (I have not seen the American version ‘Let Me In’).

As eluded to yesterday, vampire novels are hardly new stuff so writing a story about them is less about what new material you come up with, but how you interpret the accepted folklore, for example, the fact that vampires need your permission before they can enter your household (hence the title of the novel).

It also looks like Lindqvist liked it too:

I might just be the luckiest writer alive.
To have not only one, but two excellent versions of my debut novel done for the screen feels unreal.
Let the right one in is a great Swedish movie.
Let me in is a great American movie.
There are notable similarities and the spirit of Tomas Alfredson is present. But Let me in puts the emotional pressure in different places and stands firmly on its own legs. Like the Swedish movie it made me cry, but not at the same points.
Let me in is a dark and violent love story, a beautiful piece of cinema and a respectful rendering of my novel for which I am grateful. Again.

Source: http://www.hitfix.com/blogs/motion-captured/posts/novelists-stephen-king-and-ajvide-lindqvist-embrace-let-me-in

Leave a Reply

