Day 12 – A Book You Love But Hate At The Same Time

The Messenger by Marcus Zuzak

 

I loved the whole story but the ending annoyed me too much if I think about it for too long.

I read it because I had just finished ‘The Book Thief’ and wanted to devour anything that Zusak had written. It’s a beautiful coming-of-age story that’s deeply symbolic and realistic. It explores the notion that we’re primarily governed by our choices and that we have the ability to influence the lives of others, no matter how small or large our actions may be. But the ending really emphasised how the whole story was really just to make a moral point and I don’t know how to feel about it.

It’s been a while since I read it so I’m really going off of my memories.

Leave a Reply

