Day 09 – A Book You Thought You Wouldn’t Like But Ended Up Loving

Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides

 

It was ridiculously long and the topic nature pushed boundaries (transgender coming-of-age) so I was bit nervous if I could actually appreciate or understand it (or if it was one of those books that every claims to have read but no one has read).

But I loved it. Every last bit of it. And this kicked off my love for Jeffrey Eugenides. The prose was lyrical and the story was Shakespearean on so many levels. Describing it as a transgender coming-of-age really cheapens it though, and I don’t think any other author could have handled this story better or more respectfully than Eugenides.

I wrote a post about it here.

Leave a Reply

