The Liebster Award

I was nominated by Xandra from the blog Bookish Girl In A Boring World (I really appreciate your nomination!!)

Liebster Award

The rules?

  1. Acknowledge the person who nominated you for the award and post the award
  2. Answer the questions that were asked by the blogger who nominated you.
  3. Give 11 facts about yourself
  4. Ask 11 questions of your own
  5. Nominate 11 blogs for the award (or however many blogs you can nominate)
  6. Notify your nominees.

Here are the questions.

 

What is your favourite book from your childhood?

It’s not really a book featuring a story but I have to say it “The Official Pokémon Handbook” by Maria S. Barbo because when I used to play Pokemon Blue on my Gameboy (not an emulator) I’d treat it like the Gospel so I’ve got fond childhood memories.

 

Do you have any collections (stamps, shells, etc.)?

Besides books, I am an avid collector of keyrings and different countries’ currency.

 

What made you decide to start a blog?

I needed an outlet to be creative and I’ve always enjoyed writing and complaining so naturally, bitching and moaning about the books that I’ve read to an ever-expanding audience seemed like a natural move to make.

 

What is your favourite book to movie adaptation?

I love the Swedish movie of ‘Let the Right One in’ by John Ajvide Lindqvist; it’s an adaptation that respects the key elements of the novel and was able to translate the right atmosphere onto the big screen.

 

If you could only choose one book to completely forget, which would you pick to re-read as if it were the first time?

I’d forget and re-read the Harry Potter Series because I want to experience the joy of getting sucked into a fandom all over again.

 

What is one of your little known hobbies that you are particularly fond of?

I enjoy participating in trivia contests but I don’t know enough to compete on my own so I don’t play as often as I’d like.

 

What is your favourite book that is widely considered a classic?

I’m going to go with the obvious and say ‘To Kill A Mockingbird’ by Harper Lee. Atticus Finch will forever be my favourite character (because ‘Go Set A Watchman’ is dead to me).

 

Do you have a most valued book? If so, why?

It would be my dad’s copy of ‘The Seven Habits of Highly Successful People’. Ever since my dad introduced it to me when I was a teenager, I’ve followed the ideas pretty closely and it’s even helped me to become a more optimistic person, so I’d love to inherit his copy one day.

 

What made you decide to go into the field that you are in/plan to enter into?

I was always really curious about how business works (not just coming up with the idea, but the pricing, the marketing, the demand planning aspect of it etc), and I felt that being an accountant was the best way to understand how a business runs because no matter how fantastic your idea is, at the end of the day, your idea needs to be profitable.

(As a side note, it’s ok for people to be multi-faceted. We all get so worked up about finding our passions, but I think it’s fine to be interested in multiple things and for some of those things to not be considered financially viable (like reading); it’s ok to just have fun in life).

 

What has been your least favourite read of all time?

Look, I won’t go for the cheap shot and say Twilight because even though I thought it was misogynistic and sexist, I still eagerly awaited the next instalment like every teenage girl.

So my choice is ‘The Bat’ by Jo Nesbo. Everything was fine about it until I got to the dénouement and it was the stupidest, most far-fetched thing I’d ever read in my life. It ruined the whole story, and thinking about it makes me angry all over again.

 

What’s one thing that you’re proud of that isn’t commonly known about by other bloggers?

Is it blogging related? Is it book related? I’m not too sure how to answer this question, so here’s something facetious, I’m proud of my ability to squeeze a deal out of book buying; I can be very patient about buying the book that I want to maximise the discount I get.

 

Here are some Personal Facts.

  1. I love listening to the radio.
  2. Whenever I’m down, I like to sing out loud to lift my spirits (but I would not impose my singing on anyone).
  3. I hate having a quiet house, if the radio isn’t on, it’s the TV.
  4. When I was fifteen, I had serious ambitions to be a journalist or a film critic but I stopped when I realised I didn’t have the aptitude to pursue a successful career out of it.
  5. I also had serious plans to become a museum curator and I would have pursued this line of work if I didn’t get the marks to do accounting.
  6. I am a huge fan of celebrity gossip and pop culture. I don’t know why.
  7. I really enjoy doing cardio and just switching my mind off for an hour. Yes I know how annoying that sounds.
  8. I’ve never consumed an entire can of Coke or Pepsi or any soft drink in my life. Yes I also know how annoying that sounds.
  9. I don’t mind watching movies on my own.
  10. I like going into luxury clothing stores and trying on their clothes (but never buying).
  11. I can’t sit still or do nothing for long periods of time; I like to keep my mind occupied.

 

Here are my Questions.

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. Which is your favourite post (that you posted) and why?
  3. What is your day job?
  4. If you are working in a book-related industry (e.g. librarian, publisher etc), do you find it exhausting to have reading as a main hobby and as your career? If you are not in a book-related industry, would you like to be?
  5. Which book would you re-write, if given the opportunity?
  6. What was the last book you did not finish and why?
  7. Name the fictional characters that you would sleep, marry, kill?
  8. If you could forget one book to re-read, which would it be?
  9. What other hobbies do you have other than reading or blogging?
  10. What is your guilty pleasure?
  11. What would be the hardest thing for you to give up on?

 

And here are my Nominees.

The Book Review Page

Ring Around the Prose

Hard Book Habit

Nanny Grannie

Read Diverse Books

 

I hope you had as much fun as I did with this post!

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

