Six Months

Hi guys,

It’s been six months since I’ve started my blog and like a real job, I’ve decided to give myself a Performance Review.

The whole point of this blog was to exercise my creative muscles. As an accountant, the opportunties for using my imagination are usually limited to selecting the colour schemes for my spreadsheets. Don’t get me wrong, I love my job, but I also love being multi-faceted.

  • I had a flick through some of my earlier stuff and I’m definitely writing a lot better. I also found the writing process to be a lot smoother, the words come more naturally and easily.
  • However, I also noticed all the flaws in the way I write. I find it very difficult to get to the point and not be long-winded. I definitely abuse the adverbs and the adjectives because I want to convey all my ideas. This is something I aim to work on.
  • I think I might adjust the way I blog, and make my posts more of a review instead of just regurgitating what I feel like. I’m still umm-ing and ahh-ing about it though.
  • I also have a strong suspicion that my grammar is a little inconsistent, and I actually find this a little humiliating.
  • I also want to be able to convey imagery better. Read the last sentence of this post. That’s how I want to write.
  • I initially wanted this to be a funny, witty blog but that sort of prose doesn’t come across very well for me (someone once told me my humour was too deadpan for people who don’t know me very well to understand so trying to read it must make it even worse, I suppose).
  • It’s also changed the way I read. I’m much more observant of the prose, the elements and the themes that it makes reading more enjoyable than before because I can go into greater depth.
  • I’m also making a point to try and expand what I do read and not just go back to the safe options. I didn’t realise the sheer magnitude of crime fiction that I actually digested until I started tallying them up.
  • In regards to other readers, I didn’t realise just how popular fantasy and YA fiction was until I read other people’s posts, that was an eye-opener. I thought the popular choices would be crime and YA judging by the size of the respective sections at bookstores.
  • I’m reading a lot more too because I want to be able to blog regularly. For the first time, I do not moan at hour-long train rides.
  • I’m also going to do the Roger Ebert thing and try my hand at creating in the area that I’m critiquing. I think I’ll try my hand at various writing prompts from reddit first and see how I go.
  • Another side effect that surprised me was that it improved my self-esteem. It makes me so happy that I can go about creating things even if it’s just for myself. I can add another dimension to my identity so that when other aspects of my life are going through a slump, my confidence in myself is more resilient because I’m not just defined by one thing.

I also want to take this chance to say an enormous thank you to everyone for your likes and your follows and your comments. I’m so grateful that you guys take a minute out of your day to read my stuff, even though it’s just a drop in the blogging ocean. I love being part of the book blogging community.

I look forward to inundating you all with more of my readings and rants and reviews in the next six months.

Sincerely,

A Very Happy Bookkeeper

Leave a Reply

