Usgai Yojimbo by Stan Sakai

I nearly shat myself when I saw this series at the library. I can’t believe they still have this, I read it all the time as a child although I could never finish reading the entire series. This time, I was able to get my hands on Volume 2 and 4.

Usagi Yojimbo was my first foray into Japanese comics although I later understood that although it’s a comic set in Japan, it’s not real manga.

What’s to say, I love that it’s historically detailed (and apparently very accurate), I love the exploration of Japanese culture and myths, I love the drawings and the sword scenes, and I love the pacing. Sakai will go into long details about plot related items and then break it up with cute one-off stories about Usagi’s bravery and honour.

I love it. I would buy the entire series if I could find it. It brought back sweet memories of all my childhood trips to the library although the books were a bit ragged back then, these ones were in much better condition. I will keep borrowing any copies I see.

 

On Another Note

Look you guys, another library book! Not to fret, I’ve also borrowed ‘J: A Novel’ by Howard Jacobson so this is actually me venturing outside my territory for the first time with a romance novel (which I never read).

2016-05-07 21.09.20

5 thoughts on “Usgai Yojimbo by Stan Sakai

  1. Hi,

    Thank you for your nice post about Usagi! I’m Stan Sakai’s step-son and saw this shared on our Usagi page. If you would like the rest of the series, it’s actually available on our website (if you want the books autographed) if not, I’d suggest Amazon or even Comixology (online comics). It’s hard to find the entire series at your local comic book store, but they have pretty much all of them online. If they don’t have something online, you can contact me on Stan’s website.

    I’d suggest buying the Saga’s or collections, since they’re in traditional comic book sizing (bigger) and there are 3 volumes in one book! Trust me, you definitely want to read more Usagi. Books 2 and 4 have excellent stories but you’re actually missing out on Grasscutter, which Stan won best serialized story (Eisner), the story arc with the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, the story that inspired a fan to continue living, and many, many more!

    D

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

