My Favourite Crime Series

I tend towards crime fiction so this post is really a gushing fan post of all my favourite crime series.

The Comoran Strike Series by Robert Galbraith

I’m a loyal fan of J.K. Rowling so if she wanted to write about paint drying I would still buy it (though on a side note, I couldn’t finish ‘The Casual Vacancy’). I love the articulate planning involved in all of her books, so I think it’s only natural that she could write crime fiction well. Her ability to hide key information yet ensuring readers don’t feel cheated when the criminal is revealed is her key strength.

I’ve read all three of the series so far.

Inspector Singh Series by Shamini Flint

There are too many White Male Detectives so I was just excited to find something where the protagonist did not fit that description. It’s also set in Asia which is another bonus because the locations tend to rotate between America or Britain. I love that Shamini has experience in the legal system and it really shows in her writing.

I’ve read three of the series so far.

 

The Galileo Detective Series by Keigo Higashino

Higashino is a stunning example of not underestimating a nice, simple murder. There’s no violent shoot-outs or alleyway fights; everything is solved using brain power. The analysis of the crime is cut and diced from multiple aspects yet the solving of the crimes always blow my mind, it’s always the smallest detail that make the story.

I’ve read two of the series so far.

The No.1 Ladies Detective Agency Series by Alexander McCall Smith

It’s a very slow burn. It can also be quite sticky sweet at first, but there are sharp barbs on society throughout to balance it out which I’m a real sucker for. Nevertheless, the crimes are always neatly tied up, the good are always rewarded and the bad punished. I think I’m just reading it for the characters and McCall’s writing at this point.

I’ve read eleven of the series so far.

 

The Phryne Fisher Series by Kerry Greenwood

What can say, I love that she’s Australian. Like Comoran Strike, Phryne is more action-orientated than the others, but that doesn’t mean she’s not a delight to read. And Greenwood has also dealt with the law so there’s an underlying realism in her work.

I’ve read two of the series so far.

 

Notable Mentions

I haven’t included these because most of the novels can be read as stand-alone although they have the same private detective throughout:

  • The Poirot Series by Agatha Christie. The Law and Order of crime fiction novels, each book has a similar format and quality.
  •  The Marlowe Series by Raymond Chandler. I watched ‘The Big Sleep’ in high school and fell in love with Humphrey Bogart and Lauren Bacall, so I’ve been devouring any Marlowe books I can get my hands on. I dislike hard-boiled detectives as a genre, erratically enough, Marlowe is the only series of the sub-genre I’m loyal to.
  •  The Sherlock Holmes Series by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Come on. Can you really write a list of favourite crime fictions and not include the man that started it all?

 

 

Have you read any of the above series? What’s your opinion? Do you have any favourite series?

Leave a Reply

