The Critical Edition of Mein Kampf

I just wanted to chime in with my two cents on Germany’s decision to release Mein Kampf to the general public for sale. I’m aware that this is a sensitive topic and I’m not brave enough yet to write a detailed opinion out loud so I’ll keep this brief.

I don’t think it should be censored, but it should be sold only in an academic format. Mein Kampf is an important document to understand Hitler’s mindset so banning its sale is just hindering scholars’ attempt to understand that period. It’s not as if neo-Nazis couldn’t access it online anyway.

Please read these articles from The Daily Beast, I think it could do a better job explaining it then I can.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2016/02/25/fifty-shades-of-hitler-s-mein-kampf-the-new-german-best-seller.html

http://www.thedailybeast.com/articles/2016/01/09/mein-kampf-returns-to-germany.html

 

Leave a Reply

